NSW south-east councils unite under Canberra Region banner

11 May 2015

Queanbeyan City Council, along with other councils across south east NSW today announced their official partnership with the ACT Government, at the launch of the Canberra Region brand at the Q Foyer in Queanbeyan.

The exciting move will see the Canberra Region, which also includes councils from the Tablelands, Alpine and Coast, capitalise on the massive economic development opportunities and tourism offerings already established in the area.

Queanbeyan Mayor, Cr Tim Overall said that the announcement will create a range of brilliant possibilities.

The development of a single brand for the region will provide a strong platform upon which we can promote our competitive strengths to potential visitors, investors, students, residents and businesses. United, we are confident, bold and ready,” Cr Overall said. The region’s richness in urban and rural lifestyles has much to offer the Canberra Region brand.

The strength of the regional economy in terms of its size, population base, diversity and capacity for innovation is increasingly being recognised as a competitive advantage, which will be leveraged within this new partnership.

NSW councils uniting under the Canberra Region brand include Bombala, Boorowa, Cooma-Monaro, Eurobodalla, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Harden, Palerang, Snowy River, Upper Lachlan, Yass Valley and Young. Collectively with the ACT Government, they form the Canberra Region Joint Organisation (CBRJO). The CBRJO will work with stakeholders to enhance economic development opportunities with the Canberra Region brand.

Councillor John Shaw, Chair CBRJO, said that all regional councils, along with the ACT, would greatly benefit from the new partnership.

;The Canberra Region will be strengthened by the economic development partnerships between the ACT Government and the south-east NSW regional councils,” Clr Shaw said.  The Canberra Region brand will adopt the use of the CBR logo, which can be integrated into the existing logos already used by local councils.