Planning policies

Codes, Policies, Plans and Regulations

Government Policies

The NSW Department of Planning and Infrastructure policies can be found at

Local Environmental Plans (LEPs)

All land within the Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council local government area is subject to the provisions of a local environmental plan. At this time there are seven local environmental plans operating with each applying to different parts of the local government area.

The development controls in the Queanbeyan-Palerang Council local government area are derived from the above planning instruments

All of these plans can also be found on the NSW Legislation website by selecting the dark blue tab 'Browse', then under 'EPIs' in the 'Browse in Force' select Q to find the Queanbeyan LEPs (other than Queanbeyan Local Environmental Plan 1991) and under P to find the Palerang LEP.

For the former Palerang local government area the applicable planning instrument is the Palerang Local Environmental Plan 2014.

For the former Queanbeyan Local Government area, the Queanbeyan Local Environmental Plan 2012 is the main Planning Instrument. It outlines the land use zones within Queanbeyan, the types of development permitted in each zone and special provisions that relate to heritage, flooding, aircraft noise, bushfire, scenic protection areas, contamination, pollution, main roads, waste minimisation etc.

The Queanbeyan Local Environmental Plan (Poplars) 2013 and (South Tralee) 2012 cover the new urban release areas of The Poplars and South Tralee.

The Yarrowlumla Local Environmental Plan 2002 covers a restricted number of areas transferred from the former Yarrowlumla Shire Council to Queanbeyan Local Government Area.

The Queanbeyan Local Environmental Plan 1998 covers a restricted number of areas deferred from the transfer to the Queanbeyan LEP 2012.

Development Control Plans

Development Control Plans (DCPs) supplement the Local Environmental Plans by providing more detailed development controls regarding such aspect as building design, landscaping, car parking and the like. There are four DCPs that apply in the Queanbeyan-Palerang Local Government Area. The Plans are listed below and are available for download.

Palerang Development Control Plan

The Palerang Development Control Plan 2015 came into effect on 27 May 2015

Queanbeyan Development Control Plan 2012

Googong Development Control Plan

South Jerrabomberra Development Control Plan

State Environmental Planning Policies

In addition to Council’s LEPs and DCPs there are also State Environmental Planning Policies (SEPPs) which have been implemented by the NSW state government for specific areas, development types and planning issues. These controls are also found on the NSW Legislation Website under "S" in "Browse in Force" Environmental Planning Instruments (EPIs).

Some of the more commonly applicable SEPPs are listed below.

SEPP (Exempt and Complying Development Codes) 2008

This policy streamlines the assessment processes for development that complies with specified development standards. The policy provides exempt and complying development codes that have State-wide application, identifying, in the General Exempt Development Code, types of development that are of minimal environmental impact that may be carried out without the need for development consent; and, in the General Housing Code, types of complying development that may be carried out in accordance with a complying development certificate as defined in the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979.

SEPP (Affordable Rental Housing) 2009

This policy is designed to increase the amount and diversity of affordable housing in our state. The policy aims to better encourage home owners, social housing providers and developers to invest and create new affordable rental housing to meet the needs of our growing population and existing residents.

SEPP (Infrastructure) 2007

On 28 August 2009, State Environmental Planning Policy (Infrastructure) 2007 was amended to include specific measures to streamline planning approvals for commuter car-parks and public transport related infrastructure such as public transport interchanges, bus bays and bus layovers that are integrated with railway stations, public ferry wharves and roads. The amendment also clarifies the interpretation of references to ‘equivalent land use zones’ in the SEPP.

Joint Regional Planning Panels

Joint Regional Planning Panels have been set up by the NSW government to determine a range of regionally significant developments.

Land Title Restrictions (Section 88B Instruments and Covenants)

Section 88B Instruments are attached to Deposited Plans and provide for easements and other restrictions that may be attached to the title of the land and they are most often imposed by the developer of the land. Council can also impose restrictions where required. These instruments can contain an array of restrictions on the use of the land including easements, types of building materials that can be used and restrictions on parts of the site that can be developed. S88B instruments should always be checked prior to buying or developing land.

Conservation Management Plans

A Conservation Management Plan (CMP) is a document prepared as a condition of development consent for a subdivision. The CMP sets out the management responsibilities of the landowners and compliance with the recommendations is enforced by its inclusion in the S88B Instrument as a restriction on the use of the land.

Conservation Management Plan for Royalla Stage 5 Cooke Drive Googong.