Australia Day Awards

Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council presents three awards on Australia Day each year. Awards are presented to the Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year and Event of the Year.  The aim of the Awards is to recognise outstanding contributions to the local community during the year. Criteria for eligibility include the length and quantity of service, and the quality of service including individual acts of compassion, generosity and bravery.  The award winners are announced on Australia Day by the Administrator as part of the Council's Australia Day celebrations which will be held in Braidwood, Bungendore, Captains Flat and Queanbeyan Park.

Nominations are now open for the Australia Day awards which are presented in January 2017.  They close on Wednesday 7 December.  You can download the nominations forms below:

Nomination Form - Citizen and Young Citizen of the Year

Nomination Form - Event of the Year

You are able to view the previous winners by clicking on the links below:

Citizen of the Year

Year Winner
1981 Rex Cross
1982 Catherine Tizzard
1983 Kenneth Marland
1984 Paul A Doyle
1985 Sally Bundy
1986 Dorothy Jamieson
1987 Donald Furner
1988 Coral McMurray
1989 John Fisher
1990 Neil Donoghue
1991 Barbara Madew
1992 Alwyn Acott
1993 Lial James Woods O.A.M
1994 Terry Vidler
1995 Jane Hodgson
1996 Yvonne Cuschieri
1997 Robyn Murphy
1998 Harry Hesse
1999 Joan Clara Guy
2000 Gladys Hart
2001 Marjorie Waugh
2002 Shirley Hesse
2003 Samual Greeenland
2004 Tina Kazs
2005 Laurel Rosin
2006 Edith Jones
2007 Robyne Doblinger
2008 Narelle Prendegast
2009 Ethel Baxter
2010 Anne Pratt
2011 Kevin Grainger
2012 Jack Sealey
2013 Dawn Mayne
2014 Beryl Carratt
2015 Andrew Darman and Alan Jones 

Young Citizen of the Year

Year Winners
1981 Rosalind Rowe
1982 Anthony Wynd
1983 David McCubbin
1984 Mark Horton
1985 Vanessa Skein
1986 Queanbeyan Queen’s Scouts – Stephen Davis, Peter Floyd, Ross Mackie, Graham Dolby
1987 Tony Boniellio
1988 Wayne Hoare
1989 Troy Edwards
1990 Helen Poulos
1991 Megan Still
1992 Sonya Kennedy
1993 Claudia Nesci
1994 Tom Daryl Evans
1995 David Wright
1996 Not awarded
1997 Luke Word
1998 Not awarded
1999 Emma Moon
2000 Samantha Bray
2001 Alison Spong
2002 Michael Schilling
2003 Tony McInerney
2004 Andrew Luke
2005 Not awarded
2006 Zoya Patel
2007 Not awarded
2008 Lauren Ottey
2009 Sam Crawley
2010 Breann Szczepanik
2011 Katherine Schelberger
2012 Not Awarded
2013 Ally Durr
2014 Rochelle Shilling and Penny Slater
2015 Brent Hunter and Andrew Daniels

Event of the Year

 Year  Winners
1991  Queanbeyan Community Celebrations
1992  Queanbeyan Players
1993  Karabar High School Marching Band
1994  IMB Awards Queanbeyan West Rotary Club
1995  IMB Awards Queanbeyan West Rotary Club
1996  Children's Day in the Park
1997  NSW Local Government Conference
1998  Queanbeyan Business Enterprise Centre "Community Breakfast
1999  Convoy for Kids with Cancer ACT Eden Monaro Cancer Support Group
2000  Queanbeyan House and Land Program
2001  Not awarded
2002  Remembrance Day & Unveiling of the Queanbeyan Wall of Remembrance 2001
2003  Not awarded
2004  Not awarded
2005  Not awarded
2006  Festival of Ability
2007  Not awarded
2008  Queanbeyan Operations Support Group
2009  Jerramberra Carols by Candelight - Twin City Church
2010  Queanbeyan West Primary School
2011  Legacy Wards Christmas Party 2010
2012  La Campana Community Festival
2013  Jerrabomberra School Fete
2014  Queanbeyan 175th Anniversary Ball, held by Queanbeyan Combined Community Services Clubs
2015  Pink Party 

Community Group of the Year

Year Winners
1990 Queanbeyan High School multi-purpose facility - Allan Boyd, Phillip Handley, Peter Kingston, Andrew McMurray
1991 Cecil Love
1992 Venturer Unit of the Second Queanbeyan Scout Unite
1993 Queanbeyan District Girl Guides and Brownies
1994 Queanbeyan Meals on Wheels Inc
1995 West Queanbeyan Hospital Auxiliary
1996 Lions Club of Queanbeyan
1997 Queanbeyan State Emergency Service
1998 ACT Eden Monaro Cancer Support Group
1999 Queanbeyan FM 99.9
2000 Queanbeyan Honour Role Committee
2001 The Queanbeyan Youth Cafe
2002 Rotary Club of Queanbeyan
2003 West Queanbeyan Hospital Auxiliary
2004 Queanbeyan Community Health Care
2005 Palliative Care Team
2006 Queanbeyan Blue Light Branch
2007 Not awarded
2008 St Benedicts Day Care Centre
2009 Queanbeyan Legacy, Queanbeyan Red Cross
2010 Sing Australia Queanbeyan Choir
2011 Home in Queanbeyan
2012 City of Queanbeyaan RSL Sub Branch
2013 Rotary Club of Jerrabomberra
2014 Queanbeyan High School Student Representative Council
2015 Queanbeyan Hospital Auxiliary